NYC Trip: The Met and Macaron Cafe

8 Apr

On Saturday, I spent the day in New York City on a university field trip.

The trip was for a course on the Harlem Renaissance. The group visited an exhibit at the Metropolitan Museum of Art (African Art, New York, and the Avant-Garde) and went on a walking tour of Harlem to see historical landmarks from the Harlem Renaissance.

As much as I enjoyed learning about the Harlem Renaissance, my main prerogatives for the trip were visiting the Impressionism, Fashion, and Modernity exhibit at the Met and, of course, getting a box of macarons. The “Impressionism” exhibit was beautiful and impressive–I only wish I had more time to look at all of the paintings and artifacts more closely.

007 007

Photos were not allowed to be taken at the “Impressionism” exhibit–this was taken in the Greek/Roman sculpture hall

023

The Apollo Theater in Harlem

031

Harlem Shake graffiti…in Harlem

005

Most American women want the blue box from Tiffany’s–I want the red box from Cartier

006

058

Argosy’s basement: wall-to-wall books

For the macarons, I originally had planned to go to Ladurée on 864 Madison Avenue, but my friends wanted to check out Argosy bookstore on 59th and the bus was arranged to pick up the group on 54th. My disappointment wore off quickly when we passed Macaron Café on 59th heading towards the bookstore. Needless to say, I quickly browsed through Argosy and went straight to Macaron Café for a cup of tea and eight bites of heaven.

004

003    

067

074

The Flavors (Les Saveurs): Honey Lavender, Mocha, Lemon, Matcha Green Tea, Dark Chocolate, Vanilla, and White Chocolate Peppermint (not shown–je l’ai mangé avant le photo)

Leave a Reply

fromdreamtoplan

She turned her can'ts into cans and her dreams into plans.

More Native Than The Natives

Taking you to the places only the locals know about

Rustique cest Chic

I am a chalk painter living in South Africa and this is how I see the world and how I gain inspiration for my pieces.

PS by Macaron Hoarder

Francophile Lifestyle Blog

True Life: I'm a D-3 Music Major

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Trendy on a Penny

A Modern Twist on Thrift

A French American Life

Musings on my bicultural family from a Francophilic, Francophobic Anglophone. Sometimes, it's complicated.

chameleonic.

i got style, puss.

Sur les pavés de Paris

Il est cinq heures, Paris s'éveille...

Ritournelle

Anne's views on Paris, style and art

